Team AkzoNobel



The Race

Since 1973, the Volvo Ocean Race has provided the ultimate test of team and human adventure.

The dream of winning the Volvo Ocean Race has captivated many of the world’s best sailors over the years. 

The Volvo Ocean Race is a global competition, formerly known as the Whitbread Round the World Yacht Race. It was first staged in 1973 and is held every three years. The 13th edition starts in October 2017 and will end in mid-2018, visiting 11 cities around the globe. 

This edition will be contested over the longest distance in race history, covering around 45,000 nautical miles. The longest leg will be Cape Town to Hong Kong, which will cover over 12,000 nautical miles, taking up to 37 days at sea. The winner of a leg is awarded one point, second place two points and so on. The team with the least number of points at the end of the race will be the overall winner. 

Until recently, the race was as much a naval design challenge to create the fastest boat as it was a sailing competition. However, since the 2015-16 edition, the teams have raced identical one- design Volvo Ocean 65 yachts 

The move to one-design means that it is the racing ability and seamanship skills of the crew on the water that determines their finishing position. One-design has also resulted in thrilling racing, with boats often finishing just a few minutes apart after weeks of open ocean racing.

A race around the world’s oceans is not to be taken lightly. During the race, the crews cross some of the most remote and inhospitable sections of ocean and must deal with massive extremes of weather, from freezing cold and fearsome raging gales to the frustration of flat calms and sweltering heat

On the water, the sailors must be totally self-sufficient and prepared for whatever problems come their way. During stopovers, however, expert technical shore crews meticulously overhaul, repair and prepare the boats to 100% for the next leg, much like the pit lane crew in Formula One 

The course features approximately three times more racing in the remote and inhospitable expanses of the Southern Ocean – the often treacherous area of water which encircles the bottom of the globe well to the south of the capes of the world’s major continental land masses – than in recent editions of the race 

The race starts on October 22, 2017, and finishes on June 30, 2018. During the eight months of the race, the fleet will visit 12 major cities: – Alicante, Spain (start port)– Lisbon, Portugal – Cape Town, South Africa – Melbourne, Australia – Hong Kong, China – Guangzhou, China – Auckland, New Zealand – Itajaí, Brazil – Newport, United States – Cardiff, UK – Gothenburg, Sweden – The Hague, the Netherlands (finish port) 

Latest News

19th February 2018

Leg 6: daily report – Monday February 19

Among the frontrunners for final week of Leg 6 

Read More
18th February 2018

Leg 6: daily report – Sunday February 18

Rogue cloud puts team AkzoNobel down to second

Read More

Subscribe Newsletter