Team AkzoNobel

Sponsor:

Partners:

Leg 11 sailor updates


Leg 11 crew updates

Sunday June 24 0800 UTC (1000 CEST)

Update from watch captain Chris Nicholson

Well whoever scripted this has some imagination.

I know everyone on all the boats must be worn out but this is so special to be part of. What a battle for the lead of this leg and the overall title.

The name of the game here is to stay calm, but you can feel the fever starting to appear.

It must be amazing to see on the live tracker, I feel sorry for people ashore who are not getting enough sleep – not!

I know I should sleep but finding it difficult with how close we are.

Took my boots off for the first time since leaving Goteborg and I’m thinking it's possible that some of the bad smell onboard may have come from my feet for some strange reason.

--------

Saturday June 23 1900 UTC 2100 CEST

Update from navigator Jules Salter (GBR)

The final few hours of this race are going to give us a bit of everything, just as this whole lap of the planet has. Now we are tearing along at 20 knots in confused sea and Force 7-8 winds. This will die quickly as we go into Sunday and we will be left in very light conditions and at the mercy of the tide.

There is also traffic, both super tankers and a Dutch cruising man who just hailed us on the VHF “to pass him close by” so he can take some pictures as first us and then Brunel half a mile astern fly past him in a ball of spray.

Our route to the Hague is covered with exclusion areas for traffic separation schemes (TSS) and wind farms. At present the choice is between a direct route with risk of very light air and a bad angle at the end, or a longer route via Helgoland and along the Dutch coast – which may be better but is longer and more complicated.

Either way, we have closed distance with the leaders so will give it a good shot at getting a decent placing. We can sleep when we get there.

----------

Saturday June 23 0500 UTC (0700 CEST)

Update from watch captain Chris Nicholson

With all short races like this, going around multiple landmarks/buoys, it’s extremely hard to get any decent sleep. 

I think we have some of the best sleeping bags in the world, and I have to say I have missed using mine on this leg. It will be the same on all the boats, but so far most of us have stayed in our wet weather gear ready for the next move. 

You can tell some people’s feet are not coping well as there is a smell downstairs that makes your eyes water.

With the racing – we are fighting it on multiple fronts. Trying to make gains on the leaders whilst fending off Brunel, Scallywag and TTOP. 

Hoping for more passing lanes, but no one is giving an inch. Very tired but this is great racing and it’s pretty cool to push yourself in this manner.

----------

Friday June 22 0600 UTC (0800 CEST)

Update from watch captain Chris Nicholson  

After a good great start in Goteborg we have been really hot and cold. Us and Brunel were passed on both sides working our way up to Norway. Since rounding the "windward " mark at just off the Norwegian coast we have been run down by Brunel and have watched Vestas sail away. 

Sometimes we sail the wrong mode for changing sea state, but this feels like something else. 

We are all very frustrated but are keeping calm and trying to work through the situation. Only way to solve this is to go back to the setup we know, check and double check our set up and numbers and hopefully stop the bleeding – stay tuned.

Has been no sleep so far and looks busy for the next 24 hours. We have plenty of food to keep us going but the best way to feel energized is to be sailing fast.

Plenty of difficult transitions ahead so we need to play it smart and take an opportunity when it presents itself. 

Subscribe Newsletter